Daily Archives: July 19, 2010

My Life is Forever Changed: I Am the Proud Owner of a Vitamix!

I just have to brag! My Wonderful future in-laws gave us our early wedding present: our very own Vitamix!!!

Don’t have any idea what I’m talking about? Google it right now! It is basically the Rolls Royce of blenders. Except calling it a blender doesn’t even suffice. This magical machine actually chops veggies, makes and heats up soups, juices fruit and veggies, and also makes smoothies, peanut butter, ice cream, sorbets, soy milk, flour, and a billion other things! They should hire me to do their advertising 🙂

Ok ok so I might have gotten sucked into a two hour long demonstration at the state fair BUT I watched and tasted everything they made as living proof!

So now I have my very own and tonight I made peach sorbet and banana drop cookies which were both DELICIOUS! My parents couldn’t even believe it. The most amazing part is that the sorbet didn’t have any ice in it just frozen peaches, fat free milk, vanilla, a tiny bit of sugar. When you put something cold in it, the blades create so much friction that it freezes it even more turning it into a sorbet or ice cream. As if that weren’t cool enough, when you leave something blending in the machine for more than 4 or 5 minutes the prolonged friction heats up whatever is in the blender! AHHHH! I’m still freaking out!

It also came with a pretty hefty recipe book filled with only whole food nutritional recipes. That is probably what I love most about the company. They truly support my philosophy of eating only whole food nutrition made of primarily fruits, veggies, and whole grains. I just LOVE the fact that I can open the recipe book to any page and know that I will be making a healthy, low fat, and delicious treat! They are VERY pricey but VERY much worth it! Start saving up! You’ll save money in the long run.

Here is the banana drop recipe from my Vitamix recipe book. I don’t know if it will be as good blended in a regular blender 😉 (now I’m just rubbing it in) but it’s worth a shot!

Ingredients:

2 bananas
1/4 C extra light extra virgin olive oil (the extra light doesn’t have the distinctive taste of regular olive oil)
1 t vanilla
2 C uncooked rolled oats (separate into two 1 Cup portions)
1 C raisins (regular or golden – we used golden)

Directions:

1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Blend bananas, olive oil, vanilla, and 1 C oats until smooth.
3. Add raisins and the rest of the oats to the mixture and stir by hand.
4. Form into twelve balls, place on cookie sheet, and press to flatten slightly.
5. Bake for 15-20 minutes. It’s okay if they’re “doughy” because there is no eggs that need to be cooked.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal, Recipes